Public Office is a trust don't abuse it

Implication for non-compliance with the Codes

  • Removal from office
  • Vacation of official seat in any legislative house, as the case may be.
  • Imposition of fine
  • Disqualification from membership of a legislative house and from holding of any public office for a period not exceeding ten (10) years and
  • Seizure and forfeiture of the state of any property (ies) acquired in abuse or corruption of office.

The law states that the sanctions mentioned above shall be without prejudice to the penalties that may be imposed by any law where the conduct is also a criminal offence.
Furthermore, though the law gives right of appeal, sub-section 7 of this section of the Constitution states that the prerogative of mercy shall not apply to any punishment imposed by the code of conduct Tribunal.
The penalties (punishments) which the Code of conduct Tribunal imposed are not limited to those stated above. The Constitution gives the National Assembly the power to prescribe more punishments and to give the Bureau more power as it deems fit.


Codes of Coduct

Code 1 - Conflict of Interest

Conflict of Interest - A public officer shall not put himself in a position where his personal interest conflicts with his duties and responsibilities.

Code 2 - Restriction on Specified Officers

Restriction on Specified Officers - A public officer shall not:
(a) receive or be paid the emoluments of any public office at the same time as he receives or is paid emoluments of any other public office; or
(b) except where he is not employed on full time basis, engage or participate in the management or running of any private business, profession or trade; but nothing in this sub-paragraph shall prevent a public officer from engaging in farming.

Code 3 - Prohibition of Foreign Accounts

Prohibition of Foreign Accounts - The President, Vice President, Governor, Deputy Governor, Ministers of the Government of the Federation and Commissioners of the Governments of the States, members of the National Assembly and the Houses of Assembly of the States, and such other public officers or persons as the National Assembly may by law prescribe shall not maintain or operate a bank account in any country outside Nigeria.

Codes 4 - 14